Tag Archives: drivers license

Avoid points on your driver’s license

In the State of Florida, driving is considered a privilege that must be earned and can be lost for a number of infractions, such as failure to pay child support, addiction to drugs or alcohol, failure to pay some traffic fines, racing on the highway, and incurring too many violation points on your license within a certain period of time.  Points remain on your license for three years

6 Points

Leaving the scene of an accident with damage of at least $50
Speed violations resulting in an accident

4 Points

Reckless Driving
Moving violations that cause an accident
Attempting to pass a stopped school bus
Exceeding the posted speed limit by 16 mph or more
Ignoring traffic control signals or devices

3 Points

Minors driving during restricted hours *
Exceeding the posted speed limit by 15 mph or less
All other moving violations not mentioned above
Driving with an open container
Violating child restraint regulations

*Florida law states that minors younger than 17 are not allowed to drive between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless they’re accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older, or unless the minor is going to or from work. Seventeen-year-old drivers are subject to the same driving restrictions from the hours of 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.

Your license may be suspended 30 days if you incur 12 points in a 12-month period; 90 days if you incur 18 points in an 18-month period; and 12 months if you incur 24 points in a 36-month period.  Minors accruing 6 points in a 12-month period will be limited to driving for business purposes only for one year.

If you are close to exceeding the limit, call Blick Law Firm today.  Michael Blickensderfer has experience in traffic court and can offer you legal counsel.  Should you hold a CDL, you will be required to appear in court and attorney, Michael C. Blickensderfer can represent you on your behalf. 813-931-0840.

Posted in Blog, Criminal Law | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment