PIP Law Changes Affect $10,000 Coverage in an Auto Accident

Thank you for watching Minute with Mike, free legal advice answered by attorney Michael C. Blickensderfer every Wednesday at Noon.

Blick law Firm is a local Tampa Bay legal firm specializing in personal injury, criminal, bankruptcy and real estate law all across the state of Florida.

In recent Legislation news, the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law was recently changed to ensure auto accident victims seek medical treatment quickly to qualify for full insurance coverage.

Florida’s PIP insurance law as adopted by House Bill 119 now requires those injured from an auto accident to seek medical treatment within 14 days of their injury.

If an accident victim does not seek treatment within the 14-day window, they will loose access to full PIP coverage.

The practical effect of these changes will be to limit most PIP claims to only $2,500 in benefits, as most auto accidents involve soft tissue cases not falling under the “emergency medical condition” definition. Everyone is required to obtain and pay for the $10,000 in PIP coverage, but the insurance companies will limit claims to $2,500, resulting in a windfall to the insurance companies and an injustice to the policy holder/ accident victim.

For further information regarding PIP Law changes in Florida please visit our website at www.blicklawfirm.com or call 813-931-0840.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.
This entry was posted in Minute with Mike and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.