Have you been involved in an auto accident that caused serious harm to you and your family? During this difficult time there is some important information that you need to know about your rights, what you are entitled to, and the appropriate steps to take moving forward. For most personal injury claims in the state of Florida the case is about proving the other person’s negligence resulted in your injury. For auto accidents the rules are a little different we live in a no fault auto insurance state, which means, the usual personal injury process does not apply to auto accidents.
If you are in an auto accident the first thing you need to do is seek medical attention! Many people involved in auto accidents may feel fine immediately after, but then suffer from pain days later; it is imperative to seek medical attention immediately to strengthen any personal injury claim you may have to pursue.
The state of Florida has no-fault auto insurance. This means that instead of pursuing another person or their insurance to pay for any damages, your own insurance covers the cost. Florida drivers are required to have a minimum $10,000 in personal injury protection benefits and $10,000 in property damage liability benefits.
According to the Florida office of insurance regulation the goal of this is to provide drivers up to $10,000 in immediate medical coverage as opposed to waiting though the process of establishing fault in court. When you are injured and in need of medical attention the lapse in time of the accident and the process of your case going through the court system could prove to be detrimental to your health.
You cannot file a lawsuit for an auto accident in Florida unless it qualifies under the serious injury threshold. According to the 2014 Florida statutes, this means significant or permanent loss of bodily function, injury that will continue to need medical attention, significant and permanent scarring, death, and costs in excess of the policy limit.
The statute of limitations in Florida for personal injury cases resulting from traffic incidents is 4 years, this 4 year limitation is calculated from the day of the accident.
The best option is to contact a personal injury attorney and speak personally with them if you believe you have suffered serious injury and are eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit. If it can be proved that the other person is at fault for injuring you, you may be able to receive compensation for lost wages from work, property damage, emotional distress that includes anxiety and depression, and the cost of hiring someone to do house hold chores that you were not capable of doing as a result of the auto accident.
If you feel you have a personal injury claim and would like to speak to an attorney please visit our website. The Blick Law Firm is a well-established firm that services the Greater Tampa Bay area. We provide counsel and coaching our clients for their case. We provide unique individualized services for each client because we understand that each case is different. Please call us for a free 15mins consultation at 888-973-2776!